budget accomodation v. five star luxury

Now when I first started planning my travels the word ‘hostel’ terrified me. I thought of grubby dull rooms, dirty communal areas all tinged with the smell of unwashed bodies and a sense of ” I would rather be anywhere else but here” about the place. But then that’s what coming from Britain does to you. To us Brits the majority of hostels on our doorsteps are for the homeless – not young travellers. A dark cloud looms over the word, with the majority of us considering them to be a last resort rather than a place for a good nights sleep. To be honest im not any different to the majority – I too would prefer a luxurious hotel to something that’s more “budget”. My only experience of a hostel so far is a school trip aged 13. We were in France and five of us shared a room. The beds were more like a concrete wall and the shower was just a room with lots of tiles smashed or missing – which we also had to share with a couple of our teachers. So you can forgive me for being cynical so far. I myself love a little bit of pampering in upmarket hotels and for the past I don’t know how many years that has been what ive been used too. Even on our first holiday together my boyfriend and I went to a five-star resort in Jamaica – not your average teen get away. The truth is though once you get inside those perfectly clean 5 star walls you have no need to go out of them. Cocktails are served all day there’s a private beach and pool – what else do you really need apart from the odd day trip? But that not what backpacking is about – you go backpacking to see and experience everything. It will be my only chance to live like a student have a laugh with new friends and quite frankly be carefree. I know that im not going to have the money to be living like a princess for the two years, but that doesn’t mean that im going to live like a pauper either.Hostels ive looked into for my arrival in Australia look amazing! The walls are brightly coloured, the sheets are a crisp white and not one person in any of the photos looks miserable. It’s the hostels where im going to meet firm friends and fellow travellers to share my new adventure with so I might as well embrace it! Of course there will be a few hostels which I come across which will no doubt be below my original expectations, in other words absolute hell holes, but im sure that I will be able to count those places on one hand. I’m going to have great fun and who knows if I get used to a hostel maybe I might be able to tackle my low expectations on camping to!

3 thoughts on “budget accomodation v. five star luxury

  1. I have never stayed at a Hostel before and I highly doubt I ever will.. Though I guess thats how spoiled Norwegians are
    Although I think the hotels in England has a huge gap between quality and trashy. There are really no middle thing which sucks..
    Wish I could see some photos of these beautiful colored walls in Australia 🙂

Leave a Reply

